A unique opportunity to learn a range of AI/ML techniques and application areas from AI/ML experts in UK and India, and gain experience in working on a contemporary AI/ML challenge.

Dates

  • Hackathon Starts: Monday 16th May 2022 at 09:30 BST / 14:00 IST
  • Hackathon Ends: Tuesday 17th May 2022 at 17:00 BST / 21:30 IST
  • Hackathon Pitch Event and Award Ceremony: Wednesday 18th May 2022 at 09:30 - 12:30 BST / 14:00 - 17:00 IST

Eligibility

  • Undergraduate, Postgraduate Taught (i.e. M.Tech / MSc) and/or Postgraduate Research students forming a team of 2-4 members
  • Each participating team member must register with the event individually.

Further Information

  • A hybrid hackathon event supported by mentors from Symbiosis Institute of Technology (SIT) and Aston University.
  • The event is held concurrently at two different geographical locations: 
    • Aston University, Birmingham, UK
    • Symbiosis Institute of Technology (SIT), Pune, India
  • An opportunity to network with fellow students from India and the UK
  • Meals will be provided at each event venue.
  • Two prizes available for winning at each hackathon venue.
  • Detailed specification of the specific AI/ML challenges will be available at the event. Each team may choose to work on any of the given AI/ML challenge.
  • Discord will be used as the main communication platform throughout the event. If you do not yet have a Discord account, please create one prior to the event.

 

Hackathon Sponsors

Prizes

Aston 1st Prize

Aston 2nd Prize

SIT 1st Prize

SIT 2nd Prize

Devpost Achievements

Submitting to this hackathon could earn you:

Judges

Dr Shruti Patil

Dr Shruti Patil
Symbiosis Institute of Technology, Pune

Dr Shilpa Gite

Dr Shilpa Gite
Symbiosis Institute of Technology, Pune

Dr Satish Kumar

Dr Satish Kumar
Symbiosis Institute of Technology, Pune

Dr Rahee Walambe

Dr Rahee Walambe
Symbiosis Institute of Technology, Pune

Dr Aniko Ekart

Dr Aniko Ekart
Aston University

Dr Felipe Campelo

Dr Felipe Campelo
Aston University

Dr Ulysses Bernardet

Dr Ulysses Bernardet
Aston University

Dr Suyesh Bhattarai

Dr Suyesh Bhattarai
Mechatherm International

Judging Criteria

  • Quality of the Solution
    Does the solution adequately address the chosen AI/ML challenge? How original is the proposed solution? How marketable would the solution be? Would the solution easily adaptable to other related applications?
  • Scalability
    How scalable would this hack be? Would this solution work well with a large dataset?
  • Technology
    How technically impressive was the hack? Was the technical problem the team tackled difficult? Did it use a particularly clever technique or did it use many different components? Did the technology involved make you go "Wow"?
  • Completion
    Does the hack work? How well does it address the chosen AI/ML challenge? Did the team achieve everything they wanted?
  • Learning
    Did the team stretch themselves? Did they try to learn something new? If a team which always does virtual reality projects decides to switch up and try doing a mobile app instead, that exploration should be rewarded.

Questions? Email the hackathon manager

Tell your friends

Hackathon sponsors

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.